NCAA announced Morgan president as its newest member of Board of Governors

Morgan State University president now serves on the highest governing board of NCAA.

Rushaad Hayward, Staff Writer

Morgan State University President David Wilson was named to the National Collegiate Athlete Association Board of Governors announced by the organization on Monday.

His term will begin in the fall of 2020 and extend through August 2023. For the past two years Wilson has served as the chair of MEAC council of chief executive officers. His new position will be on the NCAA Division I Presidential Forum.

“I’m humbled and honored to accept this worthy opportunity to represent the best interests of our athletes with integrity and fairness,” said Wilson.

The Board of Governors is the highest governance body in the NCAA and is composed of officers that oversee Association-wide issues. Wilson will now have to take on the organization’s goals of fundamental policies and general principles.

“Dr. Wilson has a wealth of experience and is a proven leader on the Division I level,” MEAC Commissioner Dr. Dennis Thomas said. “He will be a tremendous asset to the NCAA Division I Board of Governors and Directors.”

As the leader of Morgan since 2010 and the school’s 10th president, Wilson has served as the Chair of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Council of Chief Executive Officers (CCEOs) for the past two years, and he currently serves on the NCAA Division I Presidential Forum in a term that lasts until August 2021.

Wilson “looks forward to working with my colleagues on the Board of Governors to ensure that our student-athletes are students first,” he said.